WuToWu #93:What’s a season again?

Hi Curtis,

Thank you for that warm welcome back to the east coast. I think one of the things I’m most excited about is the existence of seasons. While I’ve enjoyed living in a place where the temperature fluctuates between 40 and 70 degrees, I do miss having actual seasons.

I was talking to our mother earlier about fall. In northern California, fall consists of the leaves falling and some light rain showers. However, there’s no apple cider (unless you count Trader Joe’s-which I don’t) and pumpkin patches can only be found by driving out to Santa Cruz.

And of course, I’m excited for the snow. And sure, perhaps it’s because when I think of snow, it’s not the brown sludge that inevitably appears after a few days. It’s also probably a good bit of nostalgia since the last time I lived in a place where there was snow was when I was in 3rd grade. While I’m sure that there are less snow days in college, I still have very fond memories of days spent sledding and playing in the snow.

I’m going to assume that spring will be pretty similar to California. Perhaps it’s slightly more dramatic because the winter-spring change here is a lack of rain and some flowers bloom while on the east coast, the snow finally melts and I can imagine that makes people a little happier than a lack of rain.

While I don’t think I’ll be in Boston for the summer (at least for this first year), I think it goes without saying that I’ll take a non-humid summer over a humid one any day.

Yes, I know there is a certain someone one that would like me to be closer to home next year, but I think I’m ready. But there’s still 5 months left (including 3 months of school), and plenty of things that I have to do before I head out. Yet, I’ve already got my eyes set on the next year in Boston.

Wensleydale.

 

 

Leave a Reply

