WuToWu #87: The importance of routine

Hi Curtis,

I know I’m more than a week late but I’ve had some trouble transitioning back into the school year. And I think it has to do with a burgeoning case of senioritis.

When you left for college, our household experienced a  shift in routine. Laundry was done faster, Mom stopped shopping at Costco as much and more at Trader Joe’s. And while you are not a particularly loud person, the sound level in our house did lower in the absence of your constant singing. In essence, there was a blip in the way that things where done. For a brief time, things were different before setting back down, back into a routine.

This past weekend, our younger sister was out of the house. This left me in a rare position, being the only child to a pair of adults used to being outnumbered by their children. The house seemed rather large and extremely quiet. It was almost like third wheeling on our parents for the week. And yet, even within the short time that our sister was gone, we settled into a routine.

Routine is one of those funny things. There’s parts of my routine that I dislike-like how I automatically reach for my phone in the morning or how I spend 15 minutes looking for socks every other morning. But there’s also parts that I wish I could continue even though I know that this particular routine will have to end in a few months.

Perhaps it’s the comforting aspect of routine, the knowledge that certain things are in your control and that they will be there. In the same vein, there’s something unnerving about change. There’s always an inherent risk with change, a 50-50 chance of things going terribly wrong but also a necessary risk to take in order to make things better. I’m not sure if I’m ready for change.

Ackawi.

 

Leave a Reply

