WuToWu #79: A Personal Political Journey

Hi Curtis,

Politics is an interesting topic. Especially in this season, there is nothing that will stir up a firestorm faster. Being 17 and 11 months at the time of the  general election, I feel both obligated to keep up to date on the happenings in the politi-sphere as well as hopeless since I cannot cast a vote.

This election has made me inspect the bias in the media that I consume. I’ll be honest and admit that the media that I read/watch is almost always liberal. Since most of my news comes from the New York Times, Time Magazine, and the Colbert Report, it’s not hard to see how most of my political views skew towards the left.

This election is especially important-at least to me-in that it will have incredibly direct effects on some of my most formidable years. So yes, I will have to wait until the ripe age of 23 in order to vote for a presidential candidate but I will also *hopefully* be a senior in college, close to graduating and another eager face ready to enter to job market.

Since I cannot vote now and there is nothing I can do to change that, I decided to review my own personal albeit short political journey.

 

It’s interesting to see how presidencies can segment lives. For a little over half of my life, Barack Obama has been the president. Sometimes, I’ll find rulers or other little knick-knacks with George W. Bush’s face and the words “2001-present”. And I do remember that time as well, early elementary memories.

I remember the 2008 election very distinctly. It was the first year after moving from Pennsylvania. The class had a mock election where we were each given the electoral college votes of one or two states and then were allowed to place our alliances. Coming from a very republican town, I was very surprised as each of my classmates proudly walked up to the board and placed their number under the “Obama” scrawled in a Democratic blue. And I’ll admit it, I placed the few electoral votes that my state had (I’m pretty sure I was Delaware) under McCain.

Was it simply the lingering effects of living in a republican place? Was it my burgeoning need to rebel? Who knows.

By 2012, I had been easily swayed, most likely by the power of my peers. It was 8th grade and of course, there’s no easier way to commit social suicide than by calling yourself a Republican in silicon valley. I remember being disgusted by some of my classmates back in Pennsylvania posting polls with Romney winning in their state.

And now, I’m here. I like to think that I look into issues more deeply than simply voting as my parents or peers do. I really hope that our country makes a good choice this November. I’ll be at the polls in 2020.

Hafod.

 

Leave a Reply

