WuToWu Summer Edition!

Hi Jessica,

I thought we should differentiate WuToWu Summer from WuToWu School Year, if only because we’re not taking a full course load. So let me know if you have any ideas! For the moment, though, I am foregoing our typical numbering format, even though I will keep ending my posts with various cheeses. I’ve been writing a lot more this summer, which has been nice, even if it hasn’t manifested itself on the blog. Now, however, it will!

It might be a bit of a lingering effect from my English class on setting or the result of traveling a lot in a short amount of time, but I’ve been thinking about places a great deal. Harvard in the summer is a strange palimpsest of the present, my memories of the academic year, and my my memories of summers spent at and around Stanford. I am at home, and yet I am not at home. I know what it is like to be a high school student living on campus for part of the summer, and now I know what it is like to be a college and see high school students come onto campus. I’m going to learn what it is like to be a mentor, after having been mentored by college students. And I know what Harvard is like during the school year, but I will learn what it means to live in a dorm without air conditioning in the middle of a Boston summer. The campus has plenty of familiar spaces: libraries, dormitories, stores, and restaurants. Now I get to see how these differences I’ve listed change the significance of these spaces.

I had my first Shakespeare class today, in which we learned a bit about Shakespeare’s career, the theatrical world in which he trained and worked, and the theatre itself, as a physical space. It seems that this space held important allegorical and symbolic significance during the performances of Shakespeare’s places. Getting back to Shakespeare has been an exercise in multitasking. Sometimes I’ll read the monologues as if they were poetry, trying to keep in mind both the substance of the speech and the meter. At other times, I’m trying to keep three different characters, all named Edward, truly distinct from one another. It’s been fun to read aloud, to put myself in the shoes of the scheming Richard, or the hilariously pitiable Duchess of York, or the naive Hastings. If I cannot watch the play performed in front of my eyes, I can at least imagine it in my mind, being producer, actor, and director all at once.

It’s the beginning of a new experience at Harvard for me, so I thought WuToWu also deserved a change. Mr. Bushyhead has also moved into new digs, thanks to a generous benefactor:

IMG_2249Sage Derby.

Leave a Reply

