WuToWu #61: A Day (or Two) in the Life

Hi Jessica,

You asked for it, so here it is! An intimate photojournalism essay capturing a day in the life of a college sophomore. Before we begin, I should note that some of these pictures are recreations of events. I’m not used to taking photos of everything I do.

IMG_1917Time to wake up! Last semester I woke up at 8:00 AM everyday, so the extra 40 minutes really help. After I took this photo, I did my bible reading (Acts), brushed my teeth, and got dressed. IMG_1919The 9 AM tourist crowd taking pictures of Widener and Memorial Church! The Yard looks so much better than it did last year at this time. Well, it’s a muddy brown and the trees are all in hibernation, but at least there are no six-foot piles of snow.IMG_1920Ah, Annenberg. In order to be concise, I’m just going to list the Pros and Cons of Annenberg. Pros: close to the center of campus, hot breakfast seven days a week, and widely considered the most beautiful dining hall on campus. Cons: Freshmen only for lunch and dinner, tourists trying to get in and take photos, and widely considered the worst dining hall on campus. However, I’ll take pancakes and scrambled eggs over rock-hard blueberry scones most days out of the week. I don’t normally go to Annenberg for breakfast, but I had a morning bible study with some of the guys in HUF. It’s supposed to be an evening bible study, but everyone is too busy in the evenings. As a general rule, the college school day runs from 9 AM to 9 PM. Below is a more Hogwartian view of Annenberg.IMG_1921 IMG_1922Pfizer Lecture Hall has been my home in the Chemistry department for the past three semesters, and I’ve grown to love it, broken tables, stressful midterms, crazy lecture notes and all. This is probably my last semester in Pfizer, so I’ll enjoy it while it lasts. This is Chem 40, Inorganic Chemistry. IMG_1923And here’s the “After” photo! During this lecture, I was really following along for the first part, but was left in the dust for the second part. Hopefully I can figure everything out before my midterm on Monday!IMG_1924I have 30 minutes between my chemistry class and my Asian American literature class, which isn’t enough time to run back to my dorm, eat lunch, and run back (remember, there are no upperclassmen allowed in Annenberg during lunch and dinner). Thankfully, there’s a place where I can pick up pre-packaged lunch. I settled on a chicken and lettuce wrap, a PB&J, an apple, some carrots, and some pretzels. IMG_1925Asian American literature meets in the new Harvard Art Museum complex, which is really quite beautiful. I can’t speak to any of the actual pieces of art that are in the museum, but the architecture and the acoustics are great. Below is a Calder-esque sculpture in the central atrium: IMG_1926

IMG_1927Walking across the atrium, you come to a set of stairs which lead down to the lecture halls. Notice the lime green cushions on the seats. We discussed No-No Boy by John Okada and The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston. After class, I had a meeting with my campus minister at the museum, then made my way back to Quincy House (the best house).IMG_1929This is my walk back to the house. The narrow sidewalks make it a bit cramped sometimes, but thankfully, there’s no snow to make things worse.IMG_1930I picked up some books that I had bought on Amazon. I know it’s shameful to buy books from Amazon, but the Coop was taking too long to restock the Inorganic Chemistry textbook, and like I said, I have a midterm on Monday.IMG_1931We’re reading Moby-Dick in my other English class on setting, so I did a little bit of reading before going off to Glee Club rehearsal. I apologize for not taking a photo of the rehearsal, but I’ll try to describe it for you now. We rehearsed in a lecture hall which has seats on three sides of the room, plus balcony seating that wraps around those same walls. I had my Comparative Politics class in this lecture hall the first semester of my freshman year. During the rehearsal, we prepared a couple of new pieces we’re going to sing at the Junior Parents’ Weekend concert, and received more details about the Spring Break tour. The Glee Club has a lot of different personalities, so the rehearsal process is kind of rowdy. But we got some good work done.IMG_1932Dinner time! After rehearsal, I went back to Quincy to drop off my music and grab my guitar for HUF Large Group that night. Dinner was surprisingly good: Teriyaki Chicken, Rice, and Green beans, with Boston Cream Cake. It sort of reminded me of home. Ellen met me at Quincy, and those are her knitting needles. Also, the tea is her’s. I must confess that I also forgot to take a photo at large group. However, I can tell you the set-list! We sang “The Church’s One Foundation,” “Satisfied,” “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us,” and “Be Thou My Vision.” (It’s a different “Satisfied” from the one in Hamilton)IMG_1939More work! After HUF I got started on my French homework. I haven’t used French in a while, but it’s slowly coming back to me. IMG_1940I’ve learned more about whales than I’ve ever wanted to know from Moby-Dick. It’s still an amazing book though. After finishing my assigned reading around 2:00 AM, I finally went to sleep!

Well, that was my day. As a reward(?) for looking at all my terrible photos, here’s a picture of Canadian Geese on the Charles:

IMG_1935

The ice is melting! They’re all going to… they’re all going to float.

Bootlegger.

Leave a Reply

