WuToWu #33: A Day in the Life

Hi Jessica!

First off, I’m not very good about remembering to take some pictures, so some parts of my day are missing. You can just imagine that I’m giving you the real experience of sleep deprivation! (Who am I kidding…that’s just a really bad excuse.)

12:00 AM: Happy April Fools Day!

Typical Harvard Student takes photo of his friends for blog

Typical Harvard Student takes photo of his friends for blog

12:30 AM: Doing math homework

2015-04-01 00.09.471:30 AM: ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Good morning!

Good morning!

Morning Bible Reading

Morning Bible Reading

2015-04-01 08.40.58

Breakfast! That mug will soon contain tea

2015-04-01 08.37.37

Annenberg

8:40 AM: Annenberg is never this empty, except early in the morning. There’s generic cereal in the left of the photo, the coffee and hot chocolate machine straight ahead, and the breakfast buffet to the right.

 

 

 

 

9:00 AM: Reading The Crimson while waiting for chemistry lecture to start. Oh, look! There are new students coming!

2015-04-01 08.58.53

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 AM: Just finishing Expos, my introductory writing course. It meets in one of the rooms overlooking the dining hall, which makes lunch very convenient.

2015-04-01 11.08.37

Careful! The stairs can be slippery

You’re going to have to imagine the next few parts:

11:30 AM: Lunch. I had some popcorn chicken, a baked pasta, and some “spaghetti squash.” There was some discussion of April Fools’ Pranks, but none were carried out to satisfaction.

12:15 PM: Daily Prayer at Memorial Church. This is what Memorial Church looks like.

12:45: I check my mailbox, and pick up the latest issues of “Sports Illustrated” and “The Economist,” which has a special report on whether or not attending university is worth it. Their conclusion: Yes.

2015-04-01 12.40.211:00 PM: Chemistry section is where you practice all the stuff you learn about in lecture. It is also the place where you almost fall asleep due to lack of sleep the night prior and a food coma from lunch. Actually, one could fall asleep in any of these places, but this room is especially dangerous. I didn’t take a photo of the inside because there’s some statistics class which has section right before I do.

Chemistry Section: Where your p-sets are returned

Chemistry Section: Where your p-sets are returned

2:05 PM: The walk back to Greenough. This intersection is a weird triangle where if you cross against the light one way, you don’t really have to watch for cars, but if you cross against the light the other way, you should look for oncoming cars to avoid serious bodily injury.

Look! It's the sun!

Look! It’s the sun!

Naptime!

2015-04-01 14.09.18

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Post-nap:

2015-04-01 14.55.17 HDR

Much better.

3:15 PM: I have to publicize the Glee Club concert on Saturday, so here’s an example of a flyer:

Can I get out of selling consignments for writing this post?

Can I get out of selling consignments for writing this post?

4:15 PM: Joint “Glee Club/Radcliffe Choral Singers” rehearsal in Sanders Theatre. I didn’t take a picture while we were in Sanders, but it looks like this.

5:45 PM: HGC moves to Lowell Lecture Hall to rehearse the pieces we’re performing on our own:

2015-04-01 17.53.43

Also the location of my Gov 20 class last semester

6:45 PM: Dinner! I’m usually quite hungry after rehearsal. That’s barbeque chicken, some curry-like dish, mushrooms, corn bread, and french fries. You may notice that I have no drink on my tray, but I usually carry around my water bottle, so I was all good.

2015-04-01 18.43.12

HUDS at its finest

7:00 PM: English/Comparative Literature/History and Literature meeting in the Barker Center. We’re in the middle of Advising Fortnight, where all the concentrations get to explain what they offer to students. This picture was taken after the talk, but it was held in this building.

2015-04-01 21.39.43

The Barker Center aka The Former Student Union aka “The Onion”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is actually a nice courtyard, but sometimes you’ll see something like this:

That's a racoon. That's a racoon climbing a tree.

That’s a racoon. That’s a racoon climbing a tree.

8:00 PM: HUF Large Group! We looked at Ephesians 4:17-32 today.

"Tell your sister hi!"

“Tell your sister hi!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I already said “Hi” at the beginning of this post, so I guess I can check that one off the list.

11:28 PM: Still doing math homework:

Eigenvalues for days...

Eigenvalues for days…

Well, that was my day! I might update this with more photos tomorrow, because I don’t think the day ends until I go to sleep, but for now…

Le Wavreumont.

 

Leave a Reply

