WutoWu #14: Feminism in Canada

Hi Curtis,

I’m writing this from Canada, the land of such stereotypes like maple syrup, moose, and where the uttering of the word “eh” is commonplace. Honestly, the only differences I’ve noticed are the bilingual street signs and the use of the metric system. Other than that, it’s pretty much the same.

Last week I ruptured my ear drum and then didn’t go to the doctor’s for a couple of days. Oops. I mean I noticed when I had to physically tilt my head to hear the teachers. So I’ve been on a constant stream of antibiotics and ear drops; I’ve also gotten really good at hearing out of one ear.

In English, we’ve started our Social Justice Unit where we each have to research a topic of our choice. I’ve decided to research the positive and negative connotations/assumptions about feminism within the terms of Paly students. I sent out a survey to which I got lackluster results (but that can only be expected if one uses social media in which the amount of data is directly related to the popularity of the person) but even with such a small data set, there seems to be a trend. Over 75% of all participants would call themselves a feminist, only 40% would do it in public.

When asked about what were peoples reactions, only two were positive with many dismissing the questions saying things along the line of “I shouldn’t have to argue for equality.” When asked about stereotypes, all of the  responses were negative. Now I know most people think that by asking with the word “stereotype” that I’ve doomed the question to answers that are all “man-haters” or “female superiority” but as Google defines it, a stereotype is, “a thought that can be adopted about specific types of individuals or certain ways of doing things. These thoughts or beliefs may or may not accurately reflect reality.”

THESE THOUGHTS OR BELIEFS MAY OR MAY NOT ACCURATELY REFLECT REALITY. MAY OR MAY NOT.

I’m still hoping to go deeper into the social psyche about  this work and its many meanings,but right now it’s time to go to a wedding.

Jarlsberg

Leave a Reply

