WuToWu #11: Tech and Retreats

Hi Jessica,

Congratulations on Assistant Stage Managing a show. Someday, maybe I’ll be able to do that, but for now, you have the advantage in terms of stage managing skill. In related news, I was tech-trained last Thursday, which was basically an hour-and-a-half tour of the 40 x 15 foot shop. I learned how to use a jigsaw, a table saw, two varieties of chop saw, a band saw, a staple gun, and those power screw guns that you have back at Paly. And of course, paint. I still can’t go in there without one other person (safety protocols), but I now have swipe access.

I spent the past weekend up at a place in New Hampshire called Camp Berea, named after the Bereans mentioned in the book of Acts. In addition to the RUF from Harvard, there were students from Brown, UConn, University of Vermont, Johnson and Wales, MIT, and the Rhode Island School of Design. The guest speaker, Jay Sklar, is a professor at Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis, and he talked a bit about wisdom.

Interestingly, I learned that wisdom has a lot to do with the company you keep. This is probably why Mom and Dad want us to hang out with the right crowd. We’re supposed to surround ourselves with mentors and other wise people so that we can grow to be like them. Of course, wisdom is ultimately found in Christ. Reverend Sklar defined wisdom as reflecting “God’s character into the world,” which we can only do while Jesus is working to change us.

I’m sorry for the short post, but I have a big essay due Thursday morning, and I’m trying to avoid most social interaction this week so I can finish it. It will probably be related to my next non-WuToWu post. It’s been a while since the last one, so: Reduce, Recycle, and Reuse.

Have a good week.

q2qcomics:Q2Q Comics #49: Actors Happened To It

Source: q2qcomics:Q2Q Comics #49: Actors Happened To It

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget the mozzarella.

 

Leave a Reply

