WutoWu #10: Messages from Friends, 40 oz., and why you shouldn’t use “we”

Hi Curtis,

I’m writing this from the backstage of the theater waiting for rehearsal to start. Also, the fire alarm went off midway through tutorial much to the chagrin of our academic prowess.

A message from a couple of the techs:

Nate: IOH MY LORD CURTIS I MISS YOU VERY MANY I LOVE YOU SO SO MUCH I HOPE YOU ARE HAVING THE SWAGGIEST TIME AT HARVARD, MY FREQUENT CAR RIDES TO SAN FRANSISCO (not actually happening) ARE SO BORING WITHOUT YOU ❤ WHEN YOU VISIT YOUR FAMILY VISIT ME TOO PLS THANKS

Hannah: We’ve lost a lot of intellectual stimulation due to you and Aaron Slipper’s absence.

Kathy: You have a cool name

Liam: Curtis I love you from me

Obviously, you are dearly missed.

We are currently on day three of tech week as rehearsals started on Saturday. I’ve been pretty busy teaching the new techies as well as relaying the messages from the booth to the backstage.

Ok, enough about the show.

I recently sent an email to a teacher and later I was rebuked by them for a certain phrase that I used.I was expressing my confusion over an assignment when I used the pronoun “We”.

WHY JESSICA WHY

The teacher expressed their concern over making general assumptions especially when it involved the delicate dynamic that is a classroom. I’ve come to the realization that we (yes I see the irony here) often make assumptions. (An assumption about assumptions. So meta.) Taking a closer look at the use of this word, it’s the root of a lot of stereotypes, an basis of racism, and the basis for unequal treatment for all.

I mean there are obviously some good times to use we, but there’s also worrying about how often the word is used in informal situations especially when there is usually some sort of assumption correlated with the use of the word.

And because I don’t want to end on such a deep and heavy note, I drank 40 OZ of that lemonade/iced tea stuff from CVS in one day. Oh the things that happen when you sit in a dark theater for hours on end.

Alright, rehearsal is about the start and I need to go figure out who needs to mop the stage.

Gruyere.

Leave a Reply

