Moving On

This post might be more appropriate for later in the year, but I’m in a contemplative mood right now and haven’t written in a while.

First, a bit of introspection. I’ve become very strongly tied to my high school. The extra-curricular activities I’m involved in (debate, theatre, choir) mostly occur at school, so I’m on campus for the majority of the day. For the past three years, I really haven’t had a problem with that.  I find it easier to talk to people and interact when there’s something else to focus on besides social interaction, and these things have provided that for me.

But now we have a problem. I’m going to college, and so are most of my friends. We’re all uprooting ourselves from the Palo Alto nursery and taking a bit more responsibility. Moving on to new adventures and new locales. However, our lives so far have been centered in this one area, and that’s what’s brought us together.

I suppose what’s troubling me is that most of the friendships I’ve made will be gone in five years. In the present moment, however, they comprise the majority of my human interaction. It’s difficult to balance the above fact with my day-to-day existence. I’m afraid of getting to close to anyone because I fear losing that connection.

Second, the proposed solution. I know that it’s possible to maintain friendships after leaving high school. The advent of social media has made it even easier to keep up with people than it was to do the same thing ten years ago. This is a comforting thought. However, I think the better, and more thorough solution, is to face my fear. To do so, we must look to that classic film, Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

imagesIn the film, the main character, Holly Golightly, is a self-proclaimed free spirit. But her desire to remain free prevents her from forming any lasting relationships with the people in her life. She floats along, carefree, separate from the rest of humanity. Ultimately, she is rescued from her isolation by Paul Varjak, a writer also dissatisfied with his free floating life.

Romantic ending aside, I feel like the film expresses the idea that even if you can be hurt by others, and even though people drift away, those relationships are still worth having. So, with this in mind, I’m going to try to avoid isolating myself in preparation for the future.

One thought on “Moving On

  1. Pingback: Moving On: Part II | Mostly Useful Musings

Leave a Reply

