My Jukebox

Insofar as this blog is a time capsule to my future self, and seeing as I haven’t posted anything in a bit, I decided that I would create a list of songs that were significant in some way or another to my 17-year-old self.

Favorite Classical Pieces:

Bach Chaconne from Partita No. 2 for Violin

This is the piece that made you stop hating Bach for his minuets and start loving him for his awesome compositions.

Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso – Saint-Saens.

It’s just a cool piece. And mostly hummable too, until the last bit with the chords.

Favorite Old Pop Songs:

She’s Always a Woman – Billy Joel

You’re singing it for the Pops concert. You’re either going to love it or hate it for the week afterwards.

I Still Haven’t Found what I’m Looking For – U2

The song for an angst-filled teenager, or any teenager, really.

Favorite Musical Theater Songs:

No One is Alone – Into the Woods

You left the green room to listen to this song in the wings for almost every show.

When I Grow Up – Matilda

You’re dad was actually willing to purchase the soundtrack to this musical with his own money, which is saying a lot. Also, your younger sister sang it in the elementary school talent show with one of her friends.

Favorite Christian Songs:

Where I Belong – Switchfoot

It’s sort of like the Christian Imagine Dragons song. And it has epic lyrics.

Deathbed – Relient K

One of the first ballads you ever heard. It has a cool instrumental bit about 3/4ths of the way in, and it has Jon Foreman from Switchfoot at the end.

P.S. I realize that the inanity of this post is almost overwhelming, but I needed something to meet my one-post-every-two-weeks quota, and I have some more substantial writing coming soon.

Leave a Reply

